Career change to Paramedic

ALS, ACP, PCP, Etc..
jlmedic

Career change to Paramedic

Postby jlmedic » Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:27 pm

Hi,

I'm currently a software developer but am planning on a career change to become a Paramedic.

I'm looking at the 4 semester paramedic program at Humber (Sep 2016) but I've no idea where to begin. What should I study/review prior to applying (edit: Nevermind, I see the highschool course list - where would you recommend I take these courses)? Do I have to wait till the next school year if I fail the admission test?

Also, what are the job prospects like in Ontario? I heard somewhere that I would have to move to a different province if I want to do this full time.
Last edited by jlmedic on Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Adam82

Postby Adam82 » Thu Oct 22, 2015 4:45 am

[quote=""jlmedic""]Hi,

I'm currently a software developer but am planning on a career change to become a Paramedic.

I'm looking at the 4 semester paramedic program at Humber (Sep 2016) but I've no idea where to begin. What should I study/review prior to applying (edit: Nevermind, I see the highschool course list - where would you recommend I take these courses)? Do I have to wait till the next school year if I fail the admission test?

Also, what are the job prospects like in Ontario? I heard somewhere that I would have to move to a different province if I want to do this full time.[/quote]

Hi JL,

Honourable of you to want to switch careers.

If you fail the admission test at any school then you'd need to wait until the next intake or try another school. But I don't think too many people "fail" the tests, per se. If you fail then you've got bigger problems. Rather, they look at the people with the highest scores.