Patient transfers

luc_r59

Patient transfers

Postby luc_r59 » Tue Aug 01, 2006 7:45 pm

im a young volunteer firefighter, looking for a career in firefighting. I thought that some medical experiance in patient transfer would do me good. Can anyone tell me about patient transfer in Ontario. ie. what kind of training you need, pay, how hard it is to get a job etc etc. ive looked through all these threads and i havent found any information about it, so anything you guys could tell me would be great.
thanks

irsqyu

Postby irsqyu » Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:38 pm

luc_r59 wrote:im a young volunteer firefighter, looking for a career in firefighting. I thought that some medical experiance in patient transfer would do me good. Can anyone tell me about patient transfer in Ontario. ie. what kind of training you need, pay, how hard it is to get a job etc etc. ive looked through all these threads and i havent found any information about it, so anything you guys could tell me would be great.
thanks

There is one in Hamilton called Ontario Patient Transport, they have info on their website regarding employment/qualifications etc, it may also relate to other services, see link below

http://www.opt-med.com/employment.htm

FLASHOVER05

Postby FLASHOVER05 » Wed Aug 02, 2006 6:23 pm

Depending on where you live and where you want to work there are several options available to you such as

OPT- Hamilton, Niagara, Wentworth
Voyageur- London, Cambridge
CMR- Toronto, Scarborough, Peel, Halton
Ambulans- Durham (I think) York Region
RNR- Simcoe
Ambutrans- Toronto, York Region
Travois Peterborough, Ottawa
Paladin Toronto
Sands
Quality Both service the Kingston ottawa regions

Some companies require certain requirements such as

Class "F" licence
Paramedic student
Aemca or Emca
First Responder
CPR and First Aid

But it all depends on the company
If you need more info feel free to PM me
How the hell did I end up here?????

Iceman26

Postby Iceman26 » Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:59 pm